Social networking giant Facebook has now come up with a unique setting that would allow its users to live after death.
With the new Facebook setting, the users can appoint a friend or family member to take the access of some aspects of the account when they are no more. Or if they wish, they can even choose to get their accounts permanently deleted after their demise.
According to the social networking service company, these were the most requested features by its users who turned up to give their feedback on a range of features on its memorial page policies.
Initially, the legacy contact feature of the Facebook will only be available in the United States.
“When a person passes away, their account can become a memorial of their life, friendships and experience. By talking to people who have experienced loss, we realised there is more we can do to support those who are grieving and those who want a say in what happens to their account after death,” Facebook said while announcing the new feature.
If a user selects the feature to allow someone to manage his/her page in the event of his/her death, that associate will be able to do the following tasks:
- update the profile picture and cover photo
- respond to new friend requests
- write a post to display at the top of the memorialised timeline
People can also select the option to give their legacy contact permission for downloading an archive of profile information, images and posts they shared on Facebook.
Facebook said that the legacy contact will have only limited control as the appointee user will not be able to log in as the person who is dead or access the private messages. However, the rest of the settings will remain same.