You can get arrested in a town in Virginia for trick-or-treating this year. This is adding a whole new dimension to the “trick” part of the celebration.
The city of Chesapeake’s ordinance code now says that anyone engaging in any “trick-or-treat” activities over the age of 12 or after 8pm will be found guilty of a misdemeanor, according to News 9. The city has a designated trick-or-treating time between the hours of 6 p.m. and 8 p.m.
The code reads: “[This person] shall be punished by a fine of not less than US$10 nor more than US$100 or by confinement in jail for not more than 30 days or both.”
And according to a statement released by the city, police will be focused on making sure the evening is safe for everyone, rather than actively seeking out people over the age of 12.
There are some caveats, however. If you’re with a younger sibling out on a candy run, this is not considered an issue. But if you’re caught smashing or stealing pumpkins, there will be consequences.
There are some other cities following suit in Virginia like Newport News and Norfolk. They have similar age restrictions when it comes to trick-or-treating.
“If any person beyond the seventh grade of school or over 12 years of age shall engage in the activity commonly known as ‘trick or treat’ or any other activity of similar character or nature under any name whatsoever, such person shall be guilty of a Class 4 misdemeanor,” Newport News’ ordinance code stated.
And it’s not only American cities trying out these restrictions. In 2017, the city of Bathurst, N.B., banned older teens from trick-or-treating altogether and set a curfew of 7 p.m. Anyone caught on the streets looking for treats would have been fined up to $200.
What do you think about this new trend? Is it needed or overkill?